Please turn your device to landscape mode

The Fidelity Fund

In terms of Section 56 of the Legal Practitioners Act, Act 15 of 1995, the board of control of the Legal Practitioners’ Fidelity Fund shall consist of the chairperson of the Council of the Law Society of Namibia (LSN) and three legal practitioners appointed by Council of whom at least two shall be legal practitioners who are not members of the Council, and at least two are persons who have been engaged in private practice for a period of not less than five years. The Council may further appoint an alternate member to act in the place of the chairperson during his /her absence or inability to act as a member of the board of control.

The purpose of the Legal Practitioners’ Fidelity Fund is to reimburse members of the public who may have suffered pecuniary loss due to the theft of money or property entrusted to a legal practitioner in the course of his/her practice as such, or where a legal practitioner acts as executor or administrator in a deceased estate, or as a trustee in an insolvent estate.

Go to top of page
Latest news